Seeing the future – of Social

Just read a great post on TechCrunch about Social Mobile. I’m very enthusuastic about the future of social being driven by mobile. At the end of the day most of ‘Social’ actually happens in the ‘real’ world. You know, when you are at an event, a party, an airport or the coffee house. And most of us always have our mobiles on hand. I’m going to be watching to see how mobile, social and location collide to make for some awesome services. One that I’m checking out now is TwitterLocal. Put in your zip code and start following local twitters. Pretty cool app. I’m also following the development of a cool South African company, MXIT. I like that they are bridging the PC and mobile in a part of the world where internet isn’t what it is here. I think that is an important part of the future of mobile and internet – the bridging. What you want to do with a service varies by device context. And the interesting part is that varies across the world.

I spent some time with an emerging markets mobile company last year so I studied and saw first hand how different the context is for ‘social’ in different parts of the world (Middle East and Africa). That too me is the important part about all things mobile – it’s truly global and overall penetration is far higher than internet/PC. Some great things are going to happen in mobile/social/global in the coming years (and I hope to contribute to those developments). So, go social – go mobile – go global…

Comments
One Response to “Seeing the future – of Social”
  1. I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

    Robert Michel

Leave a Reply

